Music that moves us.

Ever have one of those days?

bad-dayToday was one of those days that just flat out sucked! I won’t bore you with the details, but it blew big time.  And I’m almost always a “cup-is-half-full” kind of guy. Anyway, it leads me to ask the question, what’s a good cheer-up song? Or a go to song for when you have a bad day or are feeling blue? Bob Marley’s “Kaya” can almost always bring a smile to my face. “Y.E.M.”, “Franklin’s Tower”, Robert Randolph’s “Press On”, Bill Withers’ “Lovely Day”, the Talking Heads’ “Naive Melody” are amongst many others. What are yours? I’d love to hear your personal favorites. Let me know!

8 responses

  1. brosea

    Blue Sky, Allman Brothers Band!

    [audio src="http://www.twotonannie.com/tunes/Pre%20June/Allman%20Brothers%20Band%20-%20Blue%20Sky.mp3" /]

    April 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  2. Corey

    I just discovered him and can’t stop listening to him, Jamie Lidell. His new album, JIM, is awesome. Not a bad song on it. He reminds me of a cross between older Stevie Wonder and Jamiroquai. Real happy, feel good music. Perfect for a bad day! Here’s a link to his myspace page. Check it out, I think you’ll dig it! http://www.myspace.com/jamielidell

    April 15, 2009 at 10:44 pm

  3. jmnpb

    Naive Melody is one of my favorites, too!

    My far-and-away, hands down cheer up music favorite:

    Steely Dan – Reelin’ In The Years

    When that riff at the beginning of the song starts, I just can’t help but smile. No matter what time of day, no matter what mood, that riff just gets me feeling good.

    April 15, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  4. chrissy andrews

    i feel you. press on always lift my spirits. you would not be smiling here today if you did not press on! hope things get better. i know they will!

    April 16, 2009 at 7:36 am

  5. bones malone

    when I’m having a really bad day, one of those when my faith in humanity is seriously questioned, I throw on the Polyphonic Spree. works every time.

    April 16, 2009 at 8:32 am

  6. They Might Be Giant’s “Birdhouse in your Soul” is possibly the happiest song ever.

    April 16, 2009 at 8:54 am

  7. Musical Stew Daily

    All great recommendations people. Thank you so much! Today is brighter and better! May you all have wonderful days!

    April 16, 2009 at 10:54 am

  8. will

    dont stop – fleetwood mac or morning song – um if its gonna be a long day

    April 16, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

