Music that moves us.

Phish — Burlington, VT (4/1/86)

85-1h123 years ago today, Phish played the only show of their career on April Fools Day. On that day, in Wilton, Connecticut, I turned 12. My parents threw me a surprise birthday party at Bobby Valentine’s Restaurant. In hindsight, I wish my folks would’ve taken the party to Hunt’s instead. Of course I was unaware of the band at the time, but man, that would’ve been one helluva birthday! I did get a signed baseball from Bobby Valentine though.

Set I: The Mighty Quinn (Quinn the Eskimo), Have Mercy> Harry Hood> Dave’s Energy Guide, The Pendulum, Jam1, Icculus, You Enjoy Myself
Set II: Help on the Way> Slipknot> AC/DC Bag, McGrupp and the Watchful Hosemasters, Alumni Blues, Dear Mrs. Reagan, Not Fade Away2

1 With Zenzile, a poet from South Africa who may have been a student at Goddard College
2 Featured members of The Joneses, with whom Phish alternated sets

Download Download2

Leave a Reply

