Music that moves us.

R.I.P. — Kristy A. Manning (Trey Anastasio’s sister)

treykrissmSad news from the Phish camp, Trey’s sister, Kristy Manning has passed after battling cancer. She had managed Trey’s “Seven Below” project at The Barn. Phish.com:

Earlier this afternoon, Kristy Manning, Trey’s sister, passed away after a courageous battle with cancer. She was one of Phish’s first fans and biggest supporters. In recent years, Kristy helped form and lead Trey’s non-profit endeavor, The Seven Below Arts Initiative.
Kristy was a loving sister, mother, daughter, friend, and a role model for all. Her positive attitude, strength of character and continued outpouring of love and support left a profound impact on everyone she knew.
She will truly be missed.

Our hearts go out to the Anastasio’s and the extended Phish family.

7 responses

  1. thanks for posting the notice. very nice photo. she was a great friend, mom, wife. we miss her.

    April 30, 2009 at 8:27 am

  2. Jeff Tundis

    So sorry to hear the news. My heart goes out to Trey and the entire Anastasio extended family.

    May 1, 2009 at 4:48 pm

  3. Elizabeth

    So sorry to hear the news. My thoughts and prayers goes out to the entire Anastasio family and all those who were touched by her in every way.

    May 23, 2009 at 8:26 pm

  4. m akselrad

    I just found out about this and am deeply saddened. I will really miss Stas.

    October 27, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  5. Some really good information here. I’ve bookmarked it for the next time i need to do this :)

    January 26, 2010 at 12:07 pm

  6. Bobby

    I guess it’s been three years, Kristy, but I just didn’t know. I just found out. Can I still say good-bye, Kristy? It was 32 years ago that I played your dead husband in Under Milkwood. 32 years since we danced at the Born Yesterday party. 32 years since the summer of training under Hal Scott. I could never forget you, who could? But silly, silly me, I just now this day made the connection in my head that you were Trey Anastasio’s sister. I guess I should have stalked you out on the Internet a lot sooner. I may never have seen you again since 1980, but seriously, that night that everybody watched us take up the whole dance floor (it was the audience floor of the Peterborough Players) as we danced to “I got a gal in Kalamazoo” I think it was, at that 40′s theme party – it’s just forever burned in my little brain. It was the funnest thing ever. I was just 16 and you were the coolest girl I’d ever known. I’m sure all the apprentices learned a lot that summer under the tutelage of THE director Harold Scott, and I’ll bet every one of them remembers you and your long red hair. I even remember the night when your boyfriend back then stayed at my, Steve and Jim’s apt. in Peterborough, when he visited you while hiking in the NH mountains. I remember you telling me he was Christopher Reeve’s half-brother, and he really did look a lot like him! I really thought you would wind up a classic stage actress, a grand dame of the theatre, but I guess you had a great life anyway. Famous brother, too, woo-hoo. I just went and bought your book. ………
    You were just such an incredible person and I swear to God, Kristy, we’ll dance again some day. My dearest and deepest condolences to Trey, Michael and Jason.

    March 30, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.