Music that moves us.

The Lizard Seminole

How I knew that FSU was the right college for me:

  • It has a great communications school that could help me launch a career in public relations;
  • I was awarded scholarships to FSU, which would make it relatively inexpensive;
  • Campus is right next to the state capitol, which would afford me the opportunity to make some great connections; or,
  • Jim Morrison went there, and if it’s good enough for him, then it’s good enough for me.

Yes, before Jim went to UCLA, he studied art and psychology at FSU! Being that I minored in psychology, there’s a good chance I sat in the same psych lecture halls that Jimbo did.

Check out 20-year-old Jim in this FSU recruitment film, in which he plays a clean-cut square who is denied enrollment.

I love the irony. Maybe I’m a bit cynical after years in public relations (and having to create such promotional videos), but Jim – a government-defying rebellious face of counter culture – participates in the propaganda-filled video when he asks, “How come my parents, the state and the university didn’t look ahead?”. Way to blatantly side with the state school and the government, Jim, in their vie for additional tax dollars.

2 responses

  1. Bobby

    How did you guys find that? That is nuts. Jim obviously had theatrical aspirations. Thank goodness it was the DOORS. To think he was an Admiral’s son and created such lyrical poetry is beyond me.

    July 24, 2008 at 7:43 pm

  2. While I was at Law School at FSU I was told that Jim lived across the street on the corner of MLK and West Jefferson in the tan/beige house. I am not sure if it is true but it made for an interesting piece of FSU lore.

    August 12, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.